Cornerstones of the Community

Founded in 1999, the Cornerstone Award is given annually to University of Michigan faculty or staff. The award recognizes the unique contributions and assistance that this individual has given to enhance the academic and social progress of African American students at the University of Michigan. Graduating participants in Black Celebratory nominate their preference for the award recipient(s).

Past Cornerstone Award recipients:

1999 – Ms. Elzora Holland – Comprehensive Studies Program

2000 – Dr. Anne Monterio – College of Engineering

2001 – Dr. Dwight Fontenot  – Comprehensive Studies Program

2002 – Ms. Denise Lee – Comprehensive Studies Program

2003 – Ms. Robbie Dye – Housing

2004 – Mr. John Marshall – Comprehensive Studies Program

2005 – Ms. Elizabeth James Department of Afroamerican and African Studies

2006 – Dr. Tiya Miles – Comprehensive Studies Program

Mr. Tyrone Winfrey – Office of Undergraduate Admissions

2007 – Dr. Hanes Walton, Jr. – College of Literature, Science and the Arts

Ms. Charlae Davis – Comprehensive Studies Program

2008 – Dr. Patricia Gurin – Nancy Cantor Distinguished University Professor, Emerita, of Psychology and Women’s Studies

Mr. Greg Hardin – Associate Director of Athletics, Director of Athletic Counseling

2009 – Dr. David Wooten Ross School of Business

Dr. Rochelle Woods – Office of Academic Multicultural Initiatives 

2010 – Dr. Patricia Coleman Burns – School of Nursing 

Ms. Lydia Middleton – Office of New Student Programs

2011 – Professor Jon Onye Lockard – Department of Afroamerican and African Studies

Ms. Sharon Burch – College of Engineering

2012 – Dr. Stephen Ward – Department of Afroamerican and African Studies and Residential College

Ms. Katherine Weathers – Department of Afroamerican and African Studies

2013 – Dr. Philip Bowman – School of Education and Institute for Social Research 

Dr. John Matlock – Office of Academic Multicultural Initiatives 

Ms. Mary Stewart – Event Services

2014 – Ms. Nesha Haniff – Department of Afroamerican and African Studies

Mr. Leon Howard III – University Housing Hall Director 

2015 – Dr. Larry Lee Rowley – Department of Afroamerican and African Studies, Rackham Graduate School 

Ms. Liese A. Hull  –  Comprehensive Studies Program

2016 – Dr. Tabbye Chavous – National Center for Institutional Diversity and School of Education 

Dr. Harold Waters Comprehensive Studies Program

2017 – David and Lynn Wooten Ross School of Business

Shlynn Lofton  –  Comprehensive Studies Program

2018 – Dwana Jones – Ross School of Business

Dr. Stephanie Rowley Office of Research

2019 – Dr. LaKisha Simmons – History and Women’s Studies

Marcus Collins Ross School of Business

Bryan Johnson – Ross School of Business

2020 – Dr. Jacqueline S. Mattis – LSA Department of Psychology

Rhonda Richard-Todd Ross School of Business
2021 – Dr. Ebbin DotsonSchool of Public Health
Andarius TaylorComprehensive Studies Program