University of Michigan Annual Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Lecturers

2022 | Dr. Rashad Richey, University Professor, Lecturer, Emmy nominated Broadcaster and Political/Social Analyst & Maria Hinojosa, Mexican-American Journalist, Anchor and Executive Producer | recording of event

2021 | Dr. Gloria House, Poet, Essayist, Educator and Human Rights and Community Activist & Malik Yakini, Educator, Farmer, Food Justice Advocate and Guitarist | recording of event

2020 | Angela Davis, Political Activist, Author, and Professor | recording of event

2019 | Tim Wise, Author and Scholar & Julia Putnam, Detroit Principal and Writer | recording of event

2018 | Hill Harper, Actor, Author, Philanthropist | recording of event

2017 | Amy Goodman, Journalist, Activist, Author & Issa Rae, Actress, Comedian, Writer, Director, Producer | recording of event

2016 | Nontombi Naomi Tutu, Race and Gender Justice Activist | recording of event

2015 | Marc Lamont Hill, Journalist, Scholar, Author and Activist

2014 | Harry Belafonte, Singer, Songwriter, Actor and Social Activist

2013 | Morris Dees, Civil Rights Activist and Founder of the Southern Poverty Law Center

2012 | Michelle Norris, Author and Award-winning Journalist

2011 | Shirley Sherrod, Civil rights activist and former Georgia rural state director for the United States Department of Agriculture

2010 | Gwen Ifill, Moderator & Managing Editor of PBS’s “Washington Week” & Co-anchor for the “PBS Newshour”

2009 | Julian Bond, Former Chairman of the NAACP

2008 | Louis Gossett Jr., Academy Award-winning Actor, Founder of the Eracism Foundation

2007 | Kweisi Mfume, Executive Director, NAACP

2006 | Anna Deavere Smith, Professor, Playwright, Actress

2005 | Henry G. Cisneros, Former Secretary – US Dept. of Housing & Urban Development

2004 | Lani Guinier, Harvard Law Professor and Author

2003 | Grace Lee Boggs, Detroit Activist and Author

2002 | Dr. Benjamin Carson, Neurosurgeon and Medical School Alumnus

2001 | Edward James Olmos, Actor and Humanitarian

2000 | Henry Louis Gates Jr., Director of African American Studies, Harvard University

1999 | Nikki Giovanni, Poet, Author and Essayist

1998 | Cornel West, Professor of African American Studies and Religion, Harvard University

1997 | Mary Frances Berry, Chairperson of the US Commission on Civil Rights

1996 | Jocelyn Elders, US Surgeon General

1995 | Benjamin Hooks, Executive Director of the NAACP

1994 | Charles Long, Director for Black Studies, University of California, Santa Barbara

1993 | Rep. Shirley Chisholm of New York

1992 | Maulana Karenga, Director of Black Studies, California State University, Long Beach

1991 | Adelaide Sanford, Regent, State University of New York

1990 | Cesar Chavez, President, United Farm Workers Union & Kevin Locke, Traditional Native American Dancer and Musician, Lakota Nation

1989 | Mayor Willie Brown Jr. of San Francisco

1988 | Gov. Douglas Wilder of Virginia

1987 | Rep. William Gray III of Pennsylvania

*Positions and titles listed reflect status at the time of address